stockdanax.blogg.se

The brain 9 software vs devonthink vs
The brain 9 software vs devonthink vs






  1. #The brain 9 software vs devonthink vs update#
  2. #The brain 9 software vs devonthink vs software#

But the first time you're handed a pencil, you have no idea of the million possibilities it opens up. If someone hands you a sledgehammer, you have an idea of what you might do with it. The real obstacle to wider adoption of Tinderbox has been the difficulty in getting started with the program. Judge for yourself, but I've found the investment very much worthwhile. The way I think about it is this: $98 a year is much less than I'd pay for one standard day of business travel, and this program's value to me through every day of the year is greater than what I gain on the standard day on the road. You pay more for craft beer than for the cheapest swill you may choose to pay more for organic food than the very cheapest source of calories. Tinderbox's creator, Mark Bernstein, has justified his business approach as part of a new wave of "artisanal software" or Neo-Victorian computing. But if you don't care about them you can use the original program as long as you want. The new releases are frequent and valuable (as are those that Zoot's creator, Tom Davis, keeps issuing for his program). It's $249 for initial purchase and updates for a year, and then $98 a year for ongoing updated releases. In an age of ubiquitous free apps, Tinderbox can seem pricey. But Zoot is Windows-only, and since I made the switch to the Mac world six years ago, fleeing the nightmare that was Windows Vista, I've mainly had to admire Zoot from afar.

#The brain 9 software vs devonthink vs software#

(My program for writing, as I can't mention often enough, is the absolutely unparalleled Scrivener, from Literature and Latte software in Cornwall, England.) I still love the idea-organizing program Zoot, which I first wrote about in this magazine back in the mid-1990s.

#The brain 9 software vs devonthink vs update#

It's been a while since the latest update on this front, so here is a quick mention of developments in two programs I've followed over the years.ġ) " Getting Started With Tinderbox." For the past few years, my go-to workhorse program for data organizing/software-for-thinking has been the Mac-only program Tinderbox, from Eastgate Systems in Watertown, Massachusetts.








The brain 9 software vs devonthink vs